Squad named for ODIs against South Africa

Amir, Imad returns as Asif Ali dropped 

0 114

KARACHI: The selection committee of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced yesterday a 16-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against South Africa, which will start in Port Elizabeth from January 19.

The selectors included Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf and Muhammad Aamir in the squad. There are five changes from the Test side. Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas and Yasir Shah have been replaced by Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Hussain Talat, Usman Shinwari and Imad Wasim, respectively

Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq while announcing the squad said that the selected team is a unanimous choice of the selection panel, including Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed and Pakistan coach Mickey Arthur.

‘We have tried to maintain consistency, taking into consideration player performances in white-ball cricket as well as looking ahead to the upcoming ODI challenges,’ he added.

Commenting on the non-selection of fast bowler Mohammad Abbas, Inzamam said: “He is very much in our scheme of things, but we have to manage his workload intelligently and smartly. He has just made a return following an injury, and we would like to give him sufficient rest before considering him for future assignments.

“Asif Ali has been dropped due to an inconsistent and below-par performance. In his place, we have decided to give Hussain Talat an opportunity to show his mettle and skills. He is a good left-handed batsman, who can also bowl,” Inzamam further said.

Squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (C, WK), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari.