Sri Lanka to tour Pakistan: Thirimanne, Shanaka to lead SL in limited-over series

0 166

COLOMBO: Sri Lanka Cricket announced the selection of a T20 and One Day International (ODI) squad to tour Pakistan as 10 top cricketers excused themselves from playing in Pakistan while citing security reasons.

According to information available here, left-handed batsman Lahiru Thirimanne will lead the side in the ODIs while Dasun Shanaks to captain T20 team.

It is pertinent to mention here that ten players, including T20 skipper veteran pacer Lasith Malinga, ODI skipper Dimuth Karunaratne and former captains Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera, have pulled out of an upcoming tour of Pakistan citing security concerns, officials concerned said.

The Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement that players in a preliminary squad were briefed on security arrangements for the six-match limited over series, and given the freedom to decide if they wanted to travel.

Following the briefing, ten players “chose to stay away” from the series of three One-Day Internationals and three T20 games, scheduled to begin on September 27 in Karachi, it said.

The other seven who opted out were Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal and Dimuth Karunaratne.

The Sri Lankans returned to Pakistan for a Twenty20 international in Lahore in October 2017 when Perera led the team. This time, he has decided to stay away.

Squads ODI: Lahiru Thirimanne (C), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Avishka Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Minod Bhanuka, Angelo Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara.

T20: Dasun Shanaka (C), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Avishka Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Angelo Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksha, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara.