Shahid Khaqan, Miftah Ismail among seven others approved for ECL

0 268

ISLAMABAD: The Interior Ministry on Friday approved names of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leaders Miftah Ismail and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi among seven others to be placed in Exit Control List.

The decision came after National Accountability Bureau (NAB) requested placement of seven suspects including former president Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and former finance minister concerning an ongoing probe in the liquefied natural gas (LNG) case.

The Interior Office released a letter to the anti-graft body, allowed to place a no-fly ban on the suggested individuals, including Mubeen Saulat, Shahid Islam ul Deen, Imran ul Haq, Uzma Adil Khan and Amir Naseem.

On Thursday, The NAB had summoned Abbasi as a former minister for petroleum and natural resources for recording his statement in ‘illegal’ award of an LNG contract with Qatar.

The NAB is probing a case filed against Abbasi in 2015 for allegedly awarding an LNG import contract at exorbitant rates, which caused a huge loss to the national exchequer.