India squad for World Cup 2019 announced

0 1,201

MUMBAI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England & Wales from May 30.

The announcement was made in a press conference in Mumbai where a five-member committee deliberated on the players to be selected.

Earlier, New Zealand and Australia also named their squad for World Cup, while India is the third team to announce its squad ahead of the April 23 deadline.

Defending champions, India is ranked second in ODI. India will play its first match against South Africa on June 5 and face arch-rival Pakistan on June 16.

The BCCI also took to Twitter and shared squad:

Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.