M&M’s in the UK are not halal, according to the brand itself
If you thought the M&M’s were halal in the UK, you thought wrong as the brand itself admitted on Twitter that its product does not qualify under the halal category.
When a Twitter user by the name of Abu Yusuf asked M&M’s UK whether the product in the country were suitable for vegetarians, M&M’s UK replied:-
“Hi , M&M’s in the UK aren’t suitable for halal or vegetarian diets. We use additives that come from animal products when we’re making M&M’s and traces of these can be found in the sweets. They aren’t listed in the ingredients because they’re only present in such small amounts,” tweeted M&M’s UK.
The brand informed the user that additives from animal products are used in the sweet hence the product does not qualify as halal.
Hi Waleed, we use various types of ingredients in our products to achieve the perfect texture and flavour. Unfortunately we can’t give away too many details of our recipe and can only give you ingredient information as is listed on the back of the pack. Kind regards
— M&M’s UK (@mmsuk) February 13, 2019