PSL 2019: Top performers of Pakistan Super League

0 391

KARACHI: The Pakistan Super League has been a platform for not only local players, but also for the talent from other parts of the world to showcase their skills.

The foreign players are an integral part of the HBL PSL and have played a vital role in making the league successful globally.

In the previous three editions, all the player of the final awards went to foreign imports – Dwayne Smith in 2016, Darren Sammy in 2017 while Luke Ronchi in 2018.

Luke Ronchi (Islamabad United)

The former New Zealand opener had a dull start to his PSL career in 2018, but once he took off, he became unstoppable. Ronchi finished the tournament as the highest run-getter scoring 435 runs with the average of 43.50 and a strike-rate of 182.00.

Andre Russell (Islamabad United/Multan Sultans)

The Jamaican all-rounder Andre Russell moves to Multan Sultans for this season after being part of two Islamabad United for two editions.

Russell was the leading wicket-taker in the inaugural tournament which United won in 2016. He took 16 wickets at an average of 17.25.

Ravi Bopara (Karachi Kings)

The England player can lay a claim to have produced the greatest all-round performance in T20 cricket. Playing for Karachi Kings in the first PSL in 2016, Bopara scored 71 not out off 43 balls against the Qalandars and took six wickets for just 16 runs, the best figures in the HBL PSL.

He was also named player of the tournament in the inaugural tournament after scoring 329 runs at 54.83 and taking 11 wickets at 13.81.

Shane Watson (Islamabad United/Quetta Gladiators)

The Australian star all-rounder is statistically the best overseas batsman in HBL PSL. With 684 runs at 29.73, he is the highest run-getter and has also hit the highest number of sixes (43).

Watson played the first two events for the United and third one for Quetta Gladiators, and also captained the United in a couple of games in 2016 when they won the tournament.

Darren Sammy (Peshawar Zalmi)

The two-time ICC World T20 winning skipper Darren Sammy, in his maiden gig as captain of the Zalmis, won them the tournament in 2017, which included a player of the match performance in the final in Lahore.

Sammy’s 11-ball 28-run cameo in a low-scoring final shifted the game’s momentum in favour of Zalmi before they bowled out the Gladiators for 90 to win the match by 58 runs.