Bill submitted for creation of Bhawalpur, South Punjab provinces

0 221

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Monday submitted a constitutional amendement bill in the National Assembly to convert Bhawalpur and South Punjab into separate provinces.

While addressing a news conference, lawmaker Ahsan Iqbal said if the government is serious in making Bhawalpur and South Punjab provinces, the PML-N will support them unconditionally.

The PML-N leader said he was afraid that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government would take a U-turn on the formation of new provinces.

The initiative was a part of the federal government’s campaign.

The bills states that the province of Bhawalpur will compromise the existing administrative division of Bhawalpur.

The South Punjab province will include existing administrative divisions of Dera Ghazi Khan and Multan, according to the bill.

These divisions would be excluded from Punjab, following the formation of the new provinces.

Total National Assembly seats for Bahawalpur province would be 18 (15 general and 3 women), while South Punjab would have 38 (31 general and 7 women) seats. Further, if the bill is passed Bahawalpur province will have 39 provincial assembly seats and South Punjab 80.