Government unveils 172 suspects placed on ECL

0 324

ISLAMABAD: The federal government has unleashed a list of 172 suspects whose names have been placed on the Exit Control List (ECL).

The no-fly list has named high-profile politicians and ministers, including Pakistan Peoples Party chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, former president Asif Ali Zardari and his sister Faryal Talpur.

Sindh chief minister Syed Murad Ali Shah and former chief minister Qaim Ali Shah are also are among those barred from flying abroad.

Ten members of the Omni Group, including chairman Anwar Majeed and his sons Abdul Ghani Majeed, Nimr Majeed are also on the list.

While briefing the press on Thursday, Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry had announced the government’s decision to put 172 individuals on the ECL, in the wake of a report submitted by a joint investigation team in the Supreme Court in the long-running money laundering case.

The JIT, in its report, had held the Zardari and Omni groups responsible in the mega money laundering and fake bank accounts case.